Overseas departments and territories of France

There are 13 overseas territories that belong to France. Name as many of them as you can.
Quiz by santali
Last updated: April 16, 2012
First submittedApril 16, 2012
Times taken2,064
Report this quizReport
Enter territory here:
 / 13 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
French Guiana
French Polynesia
Wallis and Futuna
Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Saint Martin
Saint Barthélemy
New Caledonia
French Southern and Antarctic Lands
Clipperton Island
Level 13
May 31, 2012
could the french version be accepted like polynésie française, nouvelle Calédonie and Guyane?
Level 69
Apr 8, 2014
Being French, I found it quite disturbing, as :

- Reunion, Mayotte, Guadeloupe, Martinique and French Guiana are real French departments (Départements d'Outre Mer) and rulled exactely the same way as the departments in Metropolitan France

- the other ones are indeed French Territtories (TOM) and are ruled another way.

- indeed as greuphoil mentionned, you should split French Southern and Antartic Lands into Kerguelen Island and Adelie. I guess that not a single French as ever heard about French Southern and Antartic Lands, whereas the 2 others are quite well-known.

Level 73
Jun 19, 2014
je suis d'accord avec toi - I agree with you but the title says "départements" so Guadeloupe et compagnie it's ok. But the author should put Adélie Land (notre bonne vieille Terre Adélie !) and Kerguelen separately, you are right mon cher !
Level 65
Jul 8, 2016
Everything before French Polynesia should be excluded. They were all named official departments, the only difference between them and mainland France being their location. If you want to include them then you need to include North and South Corsica also!
Level 70
Apr 8, 2017
nothing wrong with this quiz at all, am surprised at the criticism from French speakers especially considering the other quizzes on this same subject are worse. The only suggestion would be to accept Guiane/Guiana and Polynesie/Polynesia without the word French as that is not part of their title in French! French Southern and Antarctic lands is perfectly correct, I suspect those who want to break that territory down into its component parts only want to do so to claim that France has more territories than the UK! ;-)
Level 54
Feb 6, 2020
Please accept French southern territories