Take another quiz >

2013 Year in Review

Name these facts about current events and trends from the year 2013.
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
First submittedDecember 22, 2013
Last updatedDecember 28, 2014
Times taken26,895
Rating4.15
5:00
Enter answer here:
0
 / 22 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Clue
Answer
U.S. government agency that spied
on pretty much everyone
NSA
Whistleblower who revealed the above
Edward Snowden
Virtual currency that briefly reached $1,000
Bitcoin
Country where President Morsi
was overthrown by a coup
Egypt
Typhoon Haiyan killed 6,300 in this country
Philippines
The new pope
Francis
Name of William and Kate's royal baby
George
Sporting event that was bombed
Boston Marathon
Country that joined the EU
Croatia
Country where chemical weapons were used
Syria
Major U.S. city that went bankrupt
Detroit
First British man to win a Wimbledon
single's title in 77 years
Andy Murray
Addictive video game
about destroying confectionary
Candy Crush
Song
Musical Act
"Blurred Lines"
Robin Thicke
"Get Lucky"
Daft Punk
"Thrift Shop"
Macklemore
"Royals"
Lorde
 
 
Clue
Movie
Space shuttle disaster
Gravity
Movie: Let It Go
Frozen
Giant robots
fighting monsters
Pacific Rim
 
 
Clue
TV Show
50th anniversary (UK)
Doctor Who
"Heisenberg"
Breaking Bad
+3
level 71
Dec 30, 2013
Well I've been living under a rock, apparently.
+1
level 80
Dec 31, 2013
It was also the 50th anniversary of Pop Go The Beatles on the BBC. In my humble opinion, that is the more consequential of the UK shows.
+4
level 52
Dec 30, 2014
Which one is still actively showing?
+2
level 25
Jan 1, 2014
I know it wold only appeal to a limited audience, but can we have a doctor who quiz?
+1
level 76
Jan 2, 2014
Search for "doctor who" and you'll find a bunch.
+2
level 54
Jan 2, 2014
Yeah but they're all user-made. It would be nice to have an official one too.
+1
level 76
Jan 4, 2014
go to the subreddit page and suggest a couple you think should be featured. If there are any.
+1
level 76
Jul 13, 2018
Or use the quiz editor and make one yourself.
+3
level 35
Jan 2, 2014
ugh NSA is probably reading this but, NSA GTFO out of every ones business.
+2
level 76
Nov 8, 2016
The NSA does not care about your business. Collecting meta data does not mean they are sitting around reading every comment anyone posts on Facebook or YouTube, or listening in on your phone calls. Get a grip.
+2
level 21
Jan 4, 2014
No Mandela????? WTF...
+2
level ∞
Jan 5, 2014
http://www.jetpunk.com/quizzes/2013-obituaries
+1
level 10
Apr 6, 2014
The only one I almost didn't get was Candy Crush. "Destroying confectionary" sounds so formal lol
+1
level 63
Oct 8, 2018
I always wear a tuxedo and drink cocktails that need be served in specific glassware when playing Candy Crush
+1
level 30
Apr 12, 2014
I have absolutely no idea what these songs are (I think I've heard once of Get Lucky) or who the artists are (except for Daft Punk back in the 90s), and it's about the only things I missed in this quiz. And I live in North America! Which makes my ignorance more staggering, but honestly, I just don't care for "modern" music.
+1
level 75
Dec 30, 2014
Same here. I always miss the music clues on these year in review quizzes. Too bad they don't vary the genres.
+1
level 70
Oct 23, 2017
Ditto. Got 100% of all the non-music questions. Got 0% of all the music questions. :-(
+1
level 46
Mar 9, 2018
I got the daft punk question but wasn’t able to get anything else.
+1
level 49
Mar 9, 2018
Most current music goes in one ear out the other, but two songs that year I particularly liked: Royals and Thrift Shop.
+2
level 55
Apr 22, 2014
I don't listen to this crappy music!
+1
level 38
May 14, 2019
Not even Thrift Shop?
+1
level 58
Aug 17, 2014
The very idea that I would get three out of four of last year's musical acts is almost laughable, but I did it!
+1
level 77
Dec 27, 2014
It won't accept "frozen".
+1
level ∞
Dec 28, 2014
Fixed
+1
level 71
Dec 28, 2014
Definitely something wrong about the Frozen answer. I typed it three times, and it never accepted it, yet that's what shows up in red as the answer at the end (with a percentage of 0% people getting it right according to the stats). Could you fix this please?
+1
level 59
Dec 28, 2014
Funny, I first heard of "Frozen" in November 2014. Speaking of "Frozen", the accepted type-ins are messed up. Considering all the events you've mentioned, I wouldn't call 2013 a boring year (look at the description of the quiz).
+1
level 31
Dec 28, 2014
Frozen worked for me... am I alone?
+1
level ∞
Dec 29, 2014
It worked because I fixed it. :)
+1
level 38
Jul 18, 2015
Good going Quizmaster!
+2
level 66
Jan 2, 2015
Huh, I thought we still had Ratzinger. D'oh!
+1
level 63
Oct 8, 2018
No, Darth Pope is gone but a much darker pestilence is rising in the once free states of America that threatens the larger peace
+1
level 42
May 15, 2015
George? Why not make a unique name... he could become king someday, right?
+2
level 38
Jul 18, 2015
There have been 6 King Georges(without the s) in English history. Therefore it is a family name, multiple ancestor's names, and must be special to the parents, Wills & Kate.
+1
level 66
Oct 12, 2015
Well Prince Charles (Charlie), Prince William (Bill) and now Prince George... They are simply turning into the Weasleys. :D
Btw, the baby's name is George Alexander (+ a couple of others afterwards, I think).
+1
level 73
Mar 31, 2018
He can always choose a different name as king. The previous king George VI went by Albert / Bertie before that.
+1
level 60
Aug 26, 2016
Why does the clue for Frozen say "Movie: Let It Go"? Shouldn't it say "Song: Let It Go" or just "Let It Go"? The answer column already contains the word movie.
+1
level 30
Dec 6, 2016
Completed with 1:30 remaining, beat that n00bz
+2
level 61
Dec 15, 2016
It is confectionery not confectionary.
+2
level 67
Jan 4, 2017
Bit of flexibility of Snowden ould be nice. Annoying when you type Edward Snowdon and it doesn't give it to you.
+1
level 49
Mar 9, 2018
Or as an alternative learn the correct spelling of a man's name. I frequently get answers wrong and learn from them.
+1
level 60
Dec 15, 2018
For a lot of things I agree, get the spelling right. Like they ask hous to be accepted for house or dug for dog. But in this case I agree. Really, when would you ever has seen the name written down? I have only heard about it. (I guess it would ve been in American newspapers)
+1
level 49
Mar 9, 2018
well its safe to say I dont remember 2013 very well ;) BTW its currently 2018 so it was 4-5 years ago haha
+1
level 75
Dec 15, 2018
I was not happy at how many of these I missed, just five years later.
+1
level 76
Dec 15, 2018
You should accept Marvin Gaye for Robin Thicke.
+1
level 48
Jul 19, 2019
The Challenger Disaster TV Movie also came out in 2013....