Take another quiz >

2016 Year in Review

Name these facts about current events and trends from the year 2016.
Last updated: December 28, 2016
Rate:
4:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 20 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %.
This beats or equals % of test takers
The average score is
Your high score is
Your best time is remaining
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Hint
Answer
This candidate is elected as President of the United States
Donald Trump
Angelina Jolie files for divorce from this actor
Brad Pitt
This Calcutta nun is made a Catholic saint
Mother Teresa
This Chinese animal is no longer an endangered species
Giant Panda
This website is heavily criticized for spreading viral fake news stories
Facebook
An outbreak of this virus sparks concern among visitors to the 2016 Olympics
Zika
Apple removes this useful component of its latest iPhone
Headphone Jack
European astronomers discover a planet rotating around this star - the closest star to our sun
Proxima Centauri
This baseball team wins the World Series for the first time in 108 years
Chicago Cubs
This nickname is used to refer to the UK's decision to leave the EU
Brexit
Despite 5,000-1 odds against, this team wins the English Premier League
Leicester City
This game causes millions of otherwise normal people to wander around
outside looking for Pidgey and Zubat
Pokémon Go
194 countries sign this climate change agreement
Paris Agreement
This woman becomes the second female Prime Minister of the UK
Theresa May
This sprinter wins the 100m, 200m, and 4x100m relay in his third consecutive Olympics
Usain Bolt
This singer-songwriter wins the Nobel Prize for Literature
Bob Dylan
Over 100 people are shot inside a gay nightclub in this American city
Orlando
French authorities demolish the refugee "Jungle" in this city near the English Channel
Calais
For the first time, a computer beats a top human player at this board game
Go
For the second year in a row, this Canadian rapper is the most-listened to artist on Spotify
Drake
+4
level 67
Dec 15, 2016
I've never even heard of Drake before. I don't follow celebrities, but I feel that I've at least heard of most top singers: Bieber, Taylor Swift, Adele, Kanye, etc... very interesting that this guy is at the top but he somehow stays out of the spotlight
+4
level 68
Dec 16, 2016
"I don't follow celebrities," haha... What does that even mean? "Quizmaster - I'm not a stalker, how do you expect me to answer this question?"
+4
level 69
Dec 17, 2016
I dunno, the "how does this guy stay out of the spotlight?" addition at the end there makes me think perhaps out collective leg is being pulled.
+2
level 74
Dec 28, 2016
Perhaps "out of the spotlight" means he's never appeared on a quiz on this site before. :) I've never heard of him either. Not listening to current music doesn't make one ignorant or uninformed, it only means one has different tastes or interests. Not better, not worse, just different.
+2
level 19
Dec 28, 2016
I don't see how knowing about popular music can be harmful...even though I have no affinity for it, this really might help!
+3
level 62
Dec 16, 2016
Wow you decided for a rapper named Drake, who is not even interesting outside North-America. No question about the war in Syria, no David Bowie, who died this year and so many other more important questions than Drake or Pitt or an Iphone. Really sad,and shallow choice of questions, sorry.
+2
level 73
Dec 16, 2016
Well, there is a 2016 obituary quiz that covers Bowie. As for Syria, probably could have been included.
+1
level 19
Dec 28, 2016
Well, let me ask about it...I think it must have been Aleppo, too!
+6
level 32
Dec 29, 2016
What's Aleppo? :)
+1
level 64
Dec 30, 2016
I heard from a prominent Libertarian that it is an acronym.
+5
level ∞
Dec 16, 2016
Let's pretend that JetPunk was around in 1969, and I had a question about David Bowie on the 1969 year in review quiz. Someone would have commented: "David Bowie. Just another over-rated pop singer. You should have put the death of Coleman Hawkins on the quiz instead". Times change.
+9
level ∞
Dec 28, 2016
You're right. It's a totally unfair comparison. Drake has way more #1 hits than David Bowie ever did. :P
+3
level 74
Dec 28, 2016
Another difficulty is that things which seem unimportant at the time turn out to be major events in hindsight and vice versa. Just for fun I looked back at events in 1969. The Stonewall Riot in NYC was something I never heard of at the time, but is now listed as an important event because it was the beginning of the Gay Rights Movement in the US. Mario Puzo's book, The Godfather, has greater importance in hindsight, but only because it was later made into three major movies. Who knew that Nixon's inauguration would eventually cause such an uproar in American politics? I thought this quiz was a good mix of pop, political, historical, and sporting events for the year. The future will determine whether any of these are important.
+1
level 69
Feb 7, 2018
From Wikipedia: Drake holds several Billboard chart records. He has the most charted songs (154) among solo artists in the history of the Billboard Hot 100, the most simultaneously charted Hot 100 songs in a single week (24), the most time on the Hot 100 (431 weeks) and the most Hot 100 debuts in a week (21).[22] Drake also has the most number one singles on the Hot Rap Songs, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay and Rhythmic Charts.[23][24] Alongside his Grammy Award wins, Drake has won three Juno Awards and six American Music Awards, as well as a record thirteen Billboard Music Awards.
+1
level 47
Dec 29, 2016
How can you think that Drake is not interesting outside of North America? He is probably the most succesful recording artist throughout the last 3 or 4 years.
+2
level 79
Dec 16, 2016
I answered one question. Got two of them right. "Pokemon Go". Oops.
+1
level 69
Dec 17, 2016
Yeah, Pokemon Go kind of amounts to a freebie for the quick typists, Quizmaster! Also, if someone cannot think of the correct city in France, they will likely type in "Paris" as a guess, and get another freebie.
+1
level 71
Dec 21, 2016
Suggest maybe word the second question so that the answer is AlphaGo instead?
+1
level 50
Jan 13, 2017
I think AlphaGo is too hard an answer to come up with, but I do agree that some change should probably be made. I always feel guilty when I answer a question accidentally, even if I am sure I would have gotten the answer anyway.
+2
level 66
Dec 16, 2016
You should add that the Warriors blew a 3-1 lead.
+1
level 69
Dec 19, 2016
The Cubs was the sports story of the year. So . . . sorry Warriors fan, but THANK YOU CLEVELAND.
+1
level 46
Dec 28, 2016
Let's get things right here, it was the sports story of the year... In America only.
+1
level 35
Dec 28, 2016
Did anything else as important as that happen in Europe? If so, I never heard it
+1
level 43
Dec 29, 2016
Leicester winning the Premier League is a much bigger story. Nobody cares about MLB outside of North America, the whole world watches the Premier League.
+1
level 70
Sep 15, 2017
Leicester City winning the Premier League was the sports story of the PLANET. Only here in the U.S. was that feat not given the coverage it deserved. It was bigger than Chaminade defeating #1 Virginia and probably also bigger than the Miracle on Ice in 1980, primarily because it wasn't simply a 1-game/match achievement. LCFC did it over the course of an entire season. It would be the equivalent of San Jose State's football team entering the NFL this year, finishing with the best overall record and winning the Super Bowl. It's beyond impossible. Yet Leicester City did it.
+1
level 30
Jan 1, 2017
Or KD going to the Warriors
+1
level 37
Dec 16, 2016
Was expecting a question on Duterte or the war on drugs/extrajudicial killings in the Philippines.
+1
level 69
Dec 17, 2016
Pokemon Go -- the start of the Zombie apocalypse. I was at a botanical garden and all around me were people walking around, staring at their phones. It was beautiful outside but they just kept looking down without seeing anything around them. Pathetic losers.
+1
level 71
Dec 21, 2016
I went with a few mates to Rome this summer and one of them was doing the same thing the whole time we were there... Except for when his battery ran out, so he bought an extra power pack to carry around with him
+1
level 57
Dec 28, 2016
I live in a smaller city, so fortunately the Pokemon Go plague didn't affect me much. However, visited the city of Calgary, (closest large city of 1mil+), the same month of the Canadian release. Almost everyone was staring down at their phones. Never saw anything like it.
+2
level 60
Dec 28, 2016
The zombie apocalypse ended quite quickly and peacefully. No seriously, it completely died out in just a few weeks.
+1
level 75
Oct 14, 2017
At least they were actually outside.
+1
level 67
Dec 22, 2016
Too Teresa/Theresa-centric
+1
level 57
Dec 22, 2016
Too GO/Pokemon GO-centric
+1
level 52
Dec 27, 2016
Only got Go from typing Pokemon Go. Also, please accept earbud for headphone.
+1
level 57
Dec 28, 2016
So many things happened in 2016 that I think we could almost use two quizzes instead of one.
+1
level 49
Dec 28, 2016
Possibly, but maybe not now as most of the most famous ones have been used.
+1
level ∞
Dec 28, 2016
We did make two!

http://www.jetpunk.com/quizzes/2016-news-stories-name-the-country

+1
level 44
Dec 28, 2016
Answered 2 questions, got 4 right ;)
+1
level 61
Dec 28, 2016
I've always known it as "Universal Jack" because it's about so much more than just headphones.
+1
level 67
Dec 28, 2016
I was thinking "audio"and "earbuds" should be accepted.
+1
level ∞
Dec 28, 2016
Audio will work now
+1
level 75
Oct 14, 2017
I saw "_____ Jack" and immediately tried "Springheeled".
+1
level 60
Dec 28, 2016
I typed "pokemon go" and actually got two answers, one of them I never would have gotten otherwise.
+1
level 66
Dec 28, 2016
Could earbuds be accepted?
+1
level 67
Dec 28, 2016
I tried earphones, earbuds, speaker. I knew the answer but didn't get credit.
+1
level 19
Dec 28, 2016
Climate change was supposed to be in the title in the ratification process that took place throughout democratic nations, as well...Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, weren't in there, but the Holy See and Palestine were actually members? They were called the Paris Accords, the stars were minor news, Leicester was a lot earlier, and 49 people died in the Pulse Nightclub shootings, so it wasn't false or inaccurate.
+1
level 48
Dec 28, 2016
I missed a few, and I'm glad to learn that pandas are no longer endangered. Pity about the cheetahs, though....
+1
level 16
Dec 29, 2016
I got 5. woo.
+1
level 38
Jan 3, 2017
everyone here getting annoyed cos they're 'shallow events' don't be salty just cos u got it wrong xxxxx only focusing on main events might make for an easy quiz but an easy quiz isn't necessarily a good one
+1
level 65
Apr 2, 2017
Unfortunately, Bolt had the gold medal in the 4x100 relay at the 2016 Olympics stripped because one of his teammates failed a drug test.
+3
level 44
May 8, 2017
I think this quiz needs to be fixed. "Stupid" wasn't accepted for the nickname for UK's decision to leave EU.
+1
level 39
Jul 17, 2017
facebook? not cnn or infowars??
+1
level 70
Sep 15, 2017
I tried CNN first.
+1
level 53
Nov 1, 2017
Ah, but you're on the internet. Everything is liberal here.
+1
level 19
Sep 8, 2017
You forgot Hurricane Matthew in that quiz
+1
level 70
Sep 15, 2017
Kudos for recognizing Leicester City's winning the Premier League as one of the noteworthy events of the year!
+1
level 27
Dec 9, 2017
You know, I don't really see getting 12/20 on this as a bad thing. I'm glad I didn't (and still don't) have all these gross 2016 things in my brain. I almost wish I'd scored lower.
+1
level 48
Jul 1, 2018
I've often considered checking out Spotify. Not any more.
+1
level 44
Jul 28, 2018
So sad that we have to have brexit on here.