Take another quiz >

2014 Year in Review

Name these facts about current events and trends from the year 2014.
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
First submittedDecember 27, 2014
Last updatedJanuary 6, 2015
Times taken16,402
Rating4.39
5:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 21 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your best time is remaining
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Clue
Answer
Winter Olympics host city
Sochi
Host country
Russia
President of that country
Vladimir Putin
Peninsula seized by that country
Crimea
Collapsing currency of that country
Ruble
Airline whose plane was shot down by separatists loyal to that country
Malaysia Airlines
Country that hosted the World Cup
Brazil
Country that won it
Germany
Outbreak of this disease in West Africa
Ebola
Islamist group that took over parts of Iraq and Syria
Islamic State
This country had an independence referendum - but voted no
Scotland
Viral campaign to raise money for ALS disease
Ice Bucket Challenge
This company was banned in many places for not following taxi regulations
Uber
Protests in this Missouri city after a police shooting
Ferguson
Rosetta becomes the first space mission to land on one of these
Comet
Umbrella revolution in support of democracy in this Asian city
Hong Kong
Barack Obama begins the process of restoring American relations with this country
Cuba
Country where Islamic terror group Boko Haram kidnapped schoolgirls
Nigeria
Movie about people travelling through a wormhole
Interstellar
Movie about teenager cancer patients, based on a John Green book
The Fault in Our Stars
"Shake It Off" singer who took her songs off Spotify
Taylor Swift
+1
level 68
Dec 28, 2014
First comment!
+2
level 76
Dec 30, 2014
That's why you're the coolest dude.
+2
level 62
Jul 29, 2016
Well, actually, he's only the second coolest dude, apparently.
+3
level 76
Dec 29, 2014
Too Russia-centric...
+2
level 59
Dec 30, 2014
This year's events were too Russia-centric. The quiz just tells the story of 2014.
+2
level 76
Dec 30, 2014
;) Kidding, obviously.
+2
level 68
Jan 7, 2015
The Olympic games are a world wide event, and the confrontation with Ukraine is an international conflict. If this test is skewed towards any nation, it's the USA.
+1
level 42
May 15, 2015
I don't think it really has a bias this time. These US events are a pretty big deal, I mean the US opening up to Cuba for the first time in nearly 50 years? The Ferguson riots caught a lot of attention too.
+1
level 49
Dec 30, 2014
Great quiz, thank you. Quite a violent, disruptive and sad year for a lot of the world for a lot of people
+1
level 60
Dec 30, 2014
It was, wasn't it? I hope the next year will be much better
+1
level ∞
Dec 30, 2014
Violence and poverty are near all-time lows. 2014 was one of the best years ever.
+1
level 79
Dec 31, 2014
Agree with QM. There was a terribly myopic article in Wired today about how horrible 2014 was, but half of it was dystopian movies. Let's not let the admittedly bad things overshadow so much positive.
+1
level 18
Jan 2, 2015
Same here, we could all use a better year
+1
level 20
Dec 30, 2014
never heard of uber (IM BRITISH) don't care about taylor swift
+1
level 50
Dec 30, 2014
They are in Britain - there's been quite a fuss about it.
+1
level 53
Mar 30, 2015
Hmm. If a British person hasn't heard of it, one has to question it. Australia btw, also never heard of it.
+1
level 60
Oct 4, 2016
If you haven't heard of uber in OZ you must live out behind the black stump.
+1
level 36
Dec 30, 2014
Thank you, CNN!
+1
level 53
Dec 30, 2014
That's what I was thinking
+1
level 64
Dec 30, 2014
THESE ARE SO RECENT I CANT BELIEVE IT!
+1
level 55
Dec 30, 2014
Nice quiz! The only thing I might add is the recent 4chan targeting of fandom blogs on Tumblr. Perhaps something about "9+10=21" or "crave that mineral" as well.
+1
level 55
Dec 30, 2014
Forgive my apparent ignorance of current affairs but what are all of those things
+1
level 76
Jan 5, 2015
I also have no idea what these things are. Are these things that are supposed to be well known or just silly internet memes that will be forgotten in a month?
+1
level 71
Dec 30, 2014
Seems a bit risky to release this before the year is over. Here's hoping for first contact with sentient aliens tomorrow.
+1
level 24
Dec 30, 2014
Too much time!!!
+1
level 48
Dec 30, 2014
YAY TAYLOR SWIFT!!
+1
level 48
Dec 31, 2014
'One country made a lot of mischief this year.' Just one???
+1
level 58
Dec 31, 2014
QM are you having a go at anybody in particular....? ;) I never do well in these quizzes (a history buff, I never have any idea about the history I've recently lived through myself), but this time got 100%. And I could also have had a go at some question to which the answer was "Kim Kardashian's butt". Oh, well.
+1
level 46
Jan 5, 2015
I hate myself even as I type this. Rosetta didn't land on the comet. Rosetta is still orbiting the comet. Philae landed on the comet - it was dropped from Rosetta.
+1
level ∞
Jan 6, 2015
Changed the clue from "spacecraft" to "space mission". Thanks.
+1
level 83
Jan 8, 2015
And Philae didn't really "land" on the comet, it was more of a "bounce." :)
+1
level 35
Jan 9, 2015
Pretty good quiz, I just realized how important this year was to the international history. But... the war in Donets Basin (Ukraine) not directly mentioned and some films are? This is a ticking time bomb in our part of Europe.
+1
level 35
Dec 30, 2015
so much stuff about russia!
+2
level 66
Mar 22, 2017
Much more about Russia now in 2017. You can blame anything on them. Fail a test? Russia's fault. Lose an election? Russia's fault. Stub your toe? Russia's fault