2015 Year in Review

Name these facts about current events and trends from the year 2015.
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
Last updated: December 7, 2019
First submittedDecember 21, 2015
Times taken19,130
Rating3.96
5:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 22 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Clue
Answer
Islamic terrorists kill 130 people in this European city
Paris
This Kuiper Belt object is visited by the
New Horizons spacecraft
Pluto
This beloved lion is shot by an American dentist
Cecil
This country shoots down a Russian plane
Turkey
Sepp Blatter resigns as President of this
corruption-plagued organization
FIFA
This automaker is caught cheating on emissions tests
Volkswagen
2,400 people are killed by a stampede
at this annual gathering
Hajj
The U.S. Supreme Court votes to legalize this
Same-Sex Marriage
Refugees from this country flood Europe
Syria
Bruce Jenner changes her name to this
Caitlyn Jenner
This object is either white and gold, or blue and black,
depending on the person who sees it
The Dress
Justin Trudeau is elected Prime Minister of this country
Canada
Zayn Malik parts ways with this band
One Direction
This outlandish Republican candidate proposes building
a wall between the U.S. and Mexico
Donald Trump
This boxer defeats Manny Pacquiao
Floyd Mayweather
This American comedian is accused of drugging
and raping several women
Bill Cosby
Name the Movie
Dinosaurs
Jurassic World
Five Emotions
Inside Out
Stranded on Mars
The Martian
 
 
Who Recorded that Song
Uptown Funk
Mark Ronson
Hotline Bling
Drake
Hello
Adele
+2
Level 71
Dec 21, 2015
Typed in Ceres and wondered why it wasn't accepting it. Realized I was thinking of the wrong belt.
+7
Level 42
Jun 30, 2016
Typed in buckle and realised I was thinking of the wrong belt.
+1
Level 56
May 30, 2018
Typed in pluto and realised i was thinking it was the right belt
+6
Level 72
Dec 22, 2015
Pretty crappy that Bruno Mars isn't accepted for Uptown Funk. I know he's the featured artist, but that's like not accepting Rob Thomas for "Smooth." Ronson may have produced the song, but Mars had just as much, if not more impact in making it a hit.
+2
Level 59
Dec 30, 2015
I was just going to say the opposite! Bruno Mars, for me, isn't a singer I would associate with that music style. But this is SO typically Ronson - funky and fun! I love it.
+2
Level 36
Jan 4, 2016
I was going to comment that to! Bruno Mars should be accepted!
+2
Level 45
Feb 1, 2017
agreed
+3
Level 57
Dec 30, 2015
you're mistaken, buck1017. Bruno provided voice talent and some of his swagger and that's it. Ronson produced, wrote, edited, mixed, and everything-else'd the entire thing. Bruno was paid to come in, do what he was told on that track, maybe give a little feedback, and go about his merry business. If you didn't know that Mark Ronson was the person responsible for Uptown Funk, then you didn't have the knowings to finish the quiz. Bruno's great, but this quiz is accurate and correct as currently written.
+2
Level 63
Dec 30, 2015
Bruno Mars is a co-writer and co-producer of the song along with a bunch of other people.
+3
Level 70
Dec 30, 2015
And the question specifically asks who "recorded" it. That's a pretty strong case for accepting Bruno Mars.
+2
Level 81
Oct 17, 2019
"You didn't have the knowings to finish the quiz."

I strongly nominate this to be the inscription on the Annual JetPunk Pedantry Awards.
+4
Level 64
Dec 30, 2015
Might need to accept The Good Dinosaur for the dinosaurs clue...
+3
Level 47
Jan 1, 2016
I thought this, especially as there is another Disney film below it which made me think it was Good Dinosaur initially
+1
Level 56
Dec 30, 2015
just watched "the big fat quiz of the year" yesterday, might have helped. i heard about the boxer but couldnt remember his name. didnt know the fifa one.
+1
Level 71
Dec 30, 2015
Dark year...
+1
Level 64
Dec 30, 2015
2015 was a breezeā€¦ I remember when I was taking the 2014 in review quiz! I can't believe this
+1
Level 64
Dec 30, 2015
BUT THERE'S A ZAYN MALIK QUESTION WHICH MAKES ME EXCITED
+1
Level 78
Dec 30, 2015
Wow. Only scored nine. I must have slept through most of this year, but apparently I didn't miss a lot. Here's to a better 2016.
+1
Level 44
Dec 30, 2015
I can't believe only 48% of people knew the Inside Out question, and 63% Jurassic World. WOW!
+1
Level 47
Jan 2, 2016
Jurassic World did almost twice as well in the box office and Inside Out wasn't exactly seen by many people without kids. Not saying one is better than the other, but it's not that surprising that more people knew the former
+1
Level 82
Jul 11, 2019
I'm not sure I'd ever heard of Inside Out before I took this quiz today.
+1
Level 55
Jan 3, 2016
Missed Inside Out which I would never have got and Bill Cosby. Don't remember hearing anything about that, guess it was a bigger story in America.
+1
Level 28
Jan 3, 2016
Why wasn't "Who won the boxing heavyweight title against klitchco?" On here, Tyson Fury winning the championship was one of the hottest topics of the year.
+1
Level 27
Jan 4, 2016
So, this is what I typed in for Cecil: Siesel Siesol Siesal Sesel Sesol Seesel Seesol Seisel Seisol Sisel Sisol Sisal
+1
Level 72
Feb 26, 2017
try pronouncing it correctly
+1
Level 81
Apr 5, 2020
Hence the spelling attempts?
Had anyone ever even heard of that thing before it was shot? It was all postmortem, news hype love wasn't it?
+1
Level 36
Jan 4, 2016
Looking at this quiz, this makes it seem that 2015 was a bad year
+1
Level 78
Jan 11, 2016
Pluto was the second least known? Are you kidding me? Also, what about Lenny Kravitz's penis?
+2
Level 63
Mar 9, 2017
People might be confused by Kuiper Belt object. Dwarf-planet would've been too easy I guess.
+1
Level 82
Jul 11, 2019
What about it? I'd do a google search but I'm using my work computer right now and I feel like that would be a bad idea.
+1
Level 46
May 30, 2016
I think Bruno Mars should be accepted for the Uptown Funk question. I know he was the featured person in it, but still, he needs to be credited.
+1
Level 34
Sep 2, 2018
Why was same-sex marriage illegal before 2015?
+1
Level 82
Jul 11, 2019
Bigotry?
+1
Level 56
Jan 10, 2020
Cosby? Really????? I always thought it was CROSBY.
+1
Level 64
Aug 21, 2020
Oh, those days of innocence when he was just an "outlandish candidate"...