Take another quiz >

2015 Year in Review

Name these facts about current events and trends from the year 2015.
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
First submittedDecember 21, 2015
Last updatedDecember 21, 2015
Times taken17,429
Rating4.02
5:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 22 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Clue
Answer
Islamic terrorists kill 130 people in this European city
Paris
This Kuiper Belt object is visited by the
New Horizons spacecraft
Pluto
This beloved lion is shot by an American dentist
Cecil
This country shoots down a Russian plane
Turkey
Sepp Blatter resigns as President of this
corruption-plagued organization
FIFA
This automaker is caught cheating on emissions tests
Volkswagen
2,400 people are killed by a stampede
at this annual gathering
Hajj
The U.S. Supreme Court votes to legalize this
Same-Sex Marriage
Refugees from this country flood Europe
Syria
Bruce Jenner changes her name to this
Caitlyn Jenner
This object is either white and gold, or blue and black,
depending on the person who sees it
The Dress
Justin Trudeau is elected Prime Minister of this country
Canada
Zayn Malik parts ways with this band
One Direction
This outlandish Republican candidate proposes building
a wall between the U.S. and Mexico
Donald Trump
This boxer defeats Manny Pacquiao
Floyd Mayweather
This American comedian is accused of drugging
and raping several women
Bill Cosby
Name the Movie
Dinosaurs
Jurassic World
Five Emotions
Inside Out
Stranded on Mars
The Martian
 
 
Who Recorded that Song
Uptown Funk
Mark Ronson
Hotline Bling
Drake
Hello
Adele
+2
level 71
Dec 21, 2015
Typed in Ceres and wondered why it wasn't accepting it. Realized I was thinking of the wrong belt.
+7
level 39
Jun 30, 2016
Typed in buckle and realised I was thinking of the wrong belt.
+1
level 54
May 30, 2018
Typed in pluto and realised i was thinking it was the right belt
+5
level 73
Dec 22, 2015
Pretty crappy that Bruno Mars isn't accepted for Uptown Funk. I know he's the featured artist, but that's like not accepting Rob Thomas for "Smooth." Ronson may have produced the song, but Mars had just as much, if not more impact in making it a hit.
+1
level 58
Dec 30, 2015
I was just going to say the opposite! Bruno Mars, for me, isn't a singer I would associate with that music style. But this is SO typically Ronson - funky and fun! I love it.
+3
level 66
Dec 30, 2015
Bruno Mars was the only one I could think of for that song. Would never have gotten Mark Ronson in a million years.
+2
level 37
Jan 4, 2016
I was going to comment that to! Bruno Mars should be accepted!
+2
level 46
Feb 1, 2017
agreed
+2
level 55
Dec 30, 2015
you're mistaken, buck1017. Bruno provided voice talent and some of his swagger and that's it. Ronson produced, wrote, edited, mixed, and everything-else'd the entire thing. Bruno was paid to come in, do what he was told on that track, maybe give a little feedback, and go about his merry business. If you didn't know that Mark Ronson was the person responsible for Uptown Funk, then you didn't have the knowings to finish the quiz. Bruno's great, but this quiz is accurate and correct as currently written.
+2
level 62
Dec 30, 2015
Bruno Mars is a co-writer and co-producer of the song along with a bunch of other people.
+2
level 70
Dec 30, 2015
And the question specifically asks who "recorded" it. That's a pretty strong case for accepting Bruno Mars.
+1
level 72
Oct 17, 2019
"You didn't have the knowings to finish the quiz."

I strongly nominate this to be the inscription on the Annual JetPunk Pedantry Awards.
+3
level 65
Dec 30, 2015
Might need to accept The Good Dinosaur for the dinosaurs clue...
+2
level 46
Jan 1, 2016
I thought this, especially as there is another Disney film below it which made me think it was Good Dinosaur initially
+1
level 16
Jan 9, 2016
Jurassic World is doing better than The Good Dinosaur, so its pretty reasonable anyway.
+1
level 56
Dec 30, 2015
just watched "the big fat quiz of the year" yesterday, might have helped. i heard about the boxer but couldnt remember his name. didnt know the fifa one.
+1
level 66
Dec 30, 2015
Couldn't get past Toyota for the emissions question. I was certain it was Toyota. Then, when I saw the answer, I did a total face palm. DUH! I should've known that! :D
+1
level 69
Dec 30, 2015
Dark year...
+1
level 65
Dec 30, 2015
2015 was a breezeā€¦ I remember when I was taking the 2014 in review quiz! I can't believe this
+1
level 65
Dec 30, 2015
BUT THERE'S A ZAYN MALIK QUESTION WHICH MAKES ME EXCITED
+1
level 72
Oct 17, 2019
This comment didn't age well with maturity.
+1
level 76
Dec 30, 2015
Wow. Only scored nine. I must have slept through most of this year, but apparently I didn't miss a lot. Here's to a better 2016.
+1
level 37
Dec 30, 2015
Economic migrants from at least a dozen countries are flooding Europe.
+1
level 44
Dec 30, 2015
That could happen at any point, regardless of year. The Syrian Refugee Crisis has peaked in 2015.
+1
level 37
Dec 31, 2015
The notion that this immigration is critically related to Syria is simply wrong. Immigration is coming from a large number of countries. Calling it 'The Syrian Refugee Crisis' (capitalised why?) is a big misnomer.
+1
level 41
Jan 2, 2016
forgin most of those arriving in Europe in 2015 were Syrian
+1
level 24
Dec 30, 2015
Managed to miss Jurassic World, I guess I've been succeeding in trying to forget that movie ever happened.
+1
level 44
Dec 30, 2015
you didn't like Jurassic World?! =O
+1
level 77
Dec 31, 2015
I didn't care for it. Sad shadow of the original film. But I imagine if I was 10 years old I probably would have liked it more.
+1
level 24
Dec 31, 2015
Couldn't agree more, kids too young to remember Jurassic Park might like it but for the rest of us it was a lame, hollow attempt to milk a concept that really only had one film in it.
+1
level 44
Dec 30, 2015
I can't believe only 48% of people knew the Inside Out question, and 63% Jurassic World. WOW!
+1
level 41
Jan 2, 2016
Jurassic World did almost twice as well in the box office and Inside Out wasn't exactly seen by many people without kids. Not saying one is better than the other, but it's not that surprising that more people knew the former
+1
level 77
Jul 11, 2019
I'm not sure I'd ever heard of Inside Out before I took this quiz today.
+1
level 72
Oct 17, 2019
I didn't know they did another Jurassic Park movie 4 years ago.
+1
level 48
Jan 3, 2016
Missed Inside Out which I would never have got and Bill Cosby. Don't remember hearing anything about that, guess it was a bigger story in America.
+1
level 28
Jan 3, 2016
Why wasn't "Who won the boxing heavyweight title against klitchco?" On here, Tyson Fury winning the championship was one of the hottest topics of the year.
+1
level 27
Jan 4, 2016
So, this is what I typed in for Cecil: Siesel Siesol Siesal Sesel Sesol Seesel Seesol Seisel Seisol Sisel Sisol Sisal
+1
level 71
Feb 26, 2017
try pronouncing it correctly
+1
level 37
Jan 4, 2016
Looking at this quiz, this makes it seem that 2015 was a bad year
+1
level 76
Jan 11, 2016
Pluto was the second least known? Are you kidding me? Also, what about Lenny Kravitz's penis?
+2
level 61
Mar 9, 2017
People might be confused by Kuiper Belt object. Dwarf-planet would've been too easy I guess.
+1
level 77
Jul 11, 2019
What about it? I'd do a google search but I'm using my work computer right now and I feel like that would be a bad idea.
+1
level 42
May 30, 2016
I think Bruno Mars should be accepted for the Uptown Funk question. I know he was the featured person in it, but still, he needs to be credited.
+1
level 33
Sep 2, 2018
Why was same-sex marriage illegal before 2015?
+1
level 77
Jul 11, 2019
Bigotry?