2019 Year in Review

Can you name these things that happened in the year 2019?
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
Last updated: April 19, 2020
First submittedDecember 19, 2019
Times taken16,372
Rating4.46
4:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 17 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Hint
Answer
Up to 1 million people protest against the Chinese government on the streets of this city
Hong Kong
The U.S. House of Representatives votes to do this to Donald Trump
Impeach Him
Astronomers take the first ever picture of this type of object
Black Hole
Outbreaks of this easily preventable disease occur in Samoa, Oregon, and
many Jewish communities in New York
Measles
This commercial airline tests a nearly 20 hour direct flight between
New York and Sydney
Qantas
HBO airs the eighth and final season of this TV show, but fans are disappointed
Game of Thrones
This model of plane is grounded after a deadly Ethiopian Airlines crash
737 Max
This movie sets the all-time record for highest box office receipts
Avengers: Endgame
This company announces its new design, which media dub the "cybertruck"
Tesla
Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, leader of this terror group, blows himself up to avoid
being captured by U.S. troops
ISIS
Hundreds of thousands of internet memers threaten to overrun this military base to
"see them aliens", but only a few actually show up
Area 51
Amusing many, Donald Trump proposes that the U.S. purchase this large island
Greenland
The UK Conservative party wins a majority in Parliament after
promising to "get ______ done"
Brexit
Kazakhstan renames its capital from Astana to this
Nur-Sultan
For the third time, South Africa wins the World Cup of this sport
Rugby Union
This famous cathedral is seriously damaged in a fire
Notre Dame de Paris
This science-fiction horror TV show is the most-watched Netflix program of 2019
Stranger Things
+6
Level 68
Dec 19, 2019
Never even heard of the netflix programme
+3
Level 74
Dec 19, 2019
was the only one i missed
+15
Level 72
Dec 20, 2019
It's fantastic.
+1
Level 28
May 15, 2020
i dont like it, its terrible
+1
Level 72
Dec 22, 2019
Likewise.
+7
Level 74
Dec 23, 2019
Apparently some people like it because it's got a retro feel to it and they get a sense of nostalgia but it's actually really boring.
+11
Level 64
Jan 1, 2020
Ooh, you're so edgy.
+3
Level 74
Jan 20, 2020
^ Um ok, not sure what that was for
+2
Level 64
Jan 3, 2020
It's rather crap, but hey, 80's nostalgia is all the rage these days. And that's all the show's got going for it.
+3
Level 76
Dec 19, 2019
Why is Oregon given as example? It appears that by now Samoa has even more deaths than Oregon had cases ...
+6
Level ∞
Dec 19, 2019
Added Samoa to the question.
+4
Level 76
Dec 19, 2019
Good :)
+12
Level 73
Dec 31, 2019
not for samoa
+4
Level 58
Jan 1, 2020
For a second, I thought the clue was trying to say there was an outbreak in a town in Oregon named Samoa :P
+8
Level 59
Dec 20, 2019
I always have the feeling that in these kind of quizzes (yesterday's too) events that happened more recently October-December are much more representated (either that or nothing happened at the beginning of the year) So I call this quiz too fall-centric
+9
Level 72
Dec 20, 2019
Daesh as type-in?
+3
Level 79
Dec 20, 2019
Elon Musk dubbed it the Cybertruck, not the media.
+2
Level 57
Dec 20, 2019
Didn’t the flight connect New York to Singapore, not Sydney?
+2
Level ∞
Dec 20, 2019
No, that flight is "only" 17 hours and has been around for a few years.
+2
Level 56
Dec 31, 2019
Technically SQ21/22 is the world's longest commercial flight as the Qantas flight was a one-off test flight that you couldn't book tickets on
+3
Level ∞
Jan 2, 2020
Sorry about that, you are right. I've blundered. The question has now been amended.
+1
Level 61
Dec 31, 2019
love these quizzes
+1
Level ∞
Dec 31, 2019
I am wondering if Greenland would actually vote to join the United States if they had the option. It seems that Greenland is not a member of the EU, so Greenland residents have limited rights to immigrate to a different country (correct me if I'm wrong - it's complicated). If Greenland joined the U.S. it would open up a lot of opportunities. The option to move to Florida might seem awfully tempting this time of year.

Honestly, I doubt the U.S. would have to buy Greenland as Greenland has a great deal of autonomy and Denmark would likely cede ownership if the people of Greenland voted to leave.

The proposal is not nearly as wacky as it seemed to me at first:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proposals_for_the_United_States_to_purchase_Greenland#2019

If there are any JetPunk users from Greenland, I'd love to hear what you think!

+6
Level 72
Dec 31, 2019
While Greenland is not part of the EU, Greenland citizens are still EU citizens by their Union with Denmark, so they have solid rights on Free Movement.

The "buy"-Part was the whacky part about it. You can't buy a country like real estate, and we're not living in colonial times anymore.Of course, Greenland choosing to leave the Union with Denmark and join the US would be entirely possible, not a big problem for Denmark and a big *** You to Puerto Rico.
Although it is to say, that that would most likely mean, that the US had to take on the massiv subsidies, the EU and Denmark are putting into Greenland right now, mostly for the benefit of Big Companies who could more freely exploit the Greenlandic Ressources that are freed through climate change.
+2
Level ∞
Dec 31, 2019
QRU, I edited a swear word out of your comment so I wouldn't have to delete it. Sorry we're such prudes and thanks for the response.
+1
Level ∞
Dec 31, 2019
If Greenland really does have those natural resources, it would pay for itself. I don't know why Puerto Rico would care. They've voted against statehood many times. But, yes, if Greenland citizens have free movement within the EU there is not much reason for them to want to join the US.
+5
Level 40
Dec 31, 2019
No love for the cricket world cup? ☹️
+2
Level 45
Dec 31, 2019
This was a weird year man.
+2
Level 63
Apr 3, 2020
You call 2019 weird? You should look at this year... ahem.
+7
Level 48
Dec 31, 2019
They did surgery on a grape
+1
Level 63
Dec 31, 2019
Got all but Game of Thrones - never watched it before, and don't know what it's about.
+5
Level 86
Jan 13, 2020
I've never watched it either. Sounds like an expensive version of musical chairs.
+5
Level 63
Dec 31, 2019
Thanks for accepting Astana for Nursultan!
+1
Level 63
Apr 3, 2020
Wow, it's still being accepted! 😊
+1
Level 42
Apr 18, 2020
QUIZMASTER!!! I put 'Astana' as a joke (as I am wont to do for my own brief private giggles) and ludicrously it was accepted! I was more horrified than happy, I must say!
+1
Level ∞
Apr 19, 2020
This has been fixed
+3
Level 59
Dec 31, 2019
@Quizmaster, i have to say i'm extremely disappointed that you failed to include not only the biggest and most important story of the year, but as a 39 year old, quite possibly the most important story of my lifetime, which was the arrest, incarceration, and subsequent murder of Jeffrey Epstein. frankly, it's omission is stunning and inexcusable.
+1
Level 82
Dec 31, 2019
Don't worry. You can find him in this quiz I made about the decade.
+6
Level ∞
Dec 31, 2019
I did include him here:
https://www.jetpunk.com/quizzes/celebrity-gossip-by-year

Biggest story of your lifetime, though, really?

+1
Level 82
Dec 31, 2019
It has to be a joke. I’m pretty sure the only reason why he is mentioned so much is because he died around the same time Trump’s impeachment was starting to take place so right-wing conspiracy wackos were trying to drive people’s attention away from that and focus on the possibility that Epstein didn’t kill himself and whoever did was bribed by democrats or something. It’s crazy.
+4
Level 79
Dec 31, 2019
Epstein brought down the Soviet Union.
+1
Level 42
Apr 18, 2020
"Those who know the truth and those who know history are not the same." - Me. (The trouble is that neither knows whether they know the truth or whether they know history. Or both. Or neither. Take care everyone!)
+1
Level 63
Apr 20, 2020
its*
+1
Level 19
Dec 31, 2019
The first question should be 2 million people. From a citizen in this city.
+1
Level 63
Apr 20, 2020
I had an internship in Hong Kong last summer, during the height of the protests, and actually witnessed a live protest at a local shopping mall.
+1
Level 77
Dec 31, 2019
Apparently I slept through 2019. :-(
+1
Level 48
Jan 2, 2020
Well... There is no direct route between Sydney and New York. They do have a Sydney to New York route but (QF11) that goes SYD-LAX-JFK therefore it is not a direct route. The longest Qantas flight out of Sydney is to Dallas (QF8). The longest flight in the world is SQ21 between Singapore and Newark.
+1
Level ∞
Jan 2, 2020
Sorry about that. This question has been fixed.
+1
Level 48
Jan 2, 2020
Not to be a total ass but shuldn't it be about the London to Sydney test flight in that case as it is even longer? (Also tested in 2019)
+1
Level ∞
Jan 2, 2020
Haha. Looks like they tested that too (and London is 3 minutes further away). But the question is still correct since it doesn't say anything about longest flight.
+1
Level 45
Jan 5, 2020
I thought I wasn't listening this year, but looks like I was actually awake. Missing 4, including one that I wouldn't have heard of anyway, and one that I... forgot to type in...
+1
Level 63
Feb 11, 2020
I'd call stranger things a fantasy-horror show, rather than science-fiction. In my understanding, science-fiction depicts a somewhat futuristic setup where scientific/technical breakthroughs have altered the world in a meaningful way.
+1
Level 73
Feb 18, 2020
Quite a few comments about the NYC-Syndey flight, but no one mentioning the typo? You're gettin lazy, Jetpunk. ;)
+1
Level 50
Mar 23, 2020
Sydney is misspelled
+1
Level ∞
Mar 24, 2020
Ok, fixed.
+1
Level 81
Apr 5, 2020
It doesn't accept 737 Max, but it does take just "max".
+1
Level 42
Apr 18, 2020
737 is written already, but I absolutely agree that 737 Max should be accepted. Often people read the clue and type the correct answer without checking what the answer column says. The complete correct answer, regardless of what is already given, should always be accepted.
+2
Level 15
Apr 18, 2020
Can't wait for 2020 Year in Review. There's so many things going on right now... and it's only April...
+1
Level 63
Apr 20, 2020
Indeed...
+1
Level 42
Apr 18, 2020
Where's 2018? I've been going through all of them but it goes from 2017 to 2019. Was it just not featured then?
+1
Level 28
May 15, 2020
please don't ever say "memers"
+1
Level 82
Jun 21, 2020
You have a better name for them?