Take another quiz >

Tourist Attraction by Negative Review

These tourist attractions are world famous, but aren't always fun to visit. Can you guess the attraction based on a negative review from Yelp, TripAdvisor, or Google?
Quiz by Quizmaster
Rate:
First submittedJuly 4, 2019
Last updatedJuly 5, 2019
Times taken2,759
Rating4.40
4:00
Enter answer here
0
 / 17 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your fastest time is
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
Hint
Answer
So many tourists inside that there's basically no room to move.
The Mona Lisa is completely over rated!
Musée du Louvre
The Crown Jewels have a people mover so you cannot spend any time looking at them.
The Tower of London
Surrounded by tourists all trying to take their picture whether it's holding up
the tower with their feet, arms or bottom.
Leaning Tower
of Pisa
You are a giant hole in the ground. You were caused be erosion. Can you say "overrated?"
Grand Canyon
Watch Gladiator instead....
The Colosseum
If you enjoy waiting in line for 3 hours, getting on a boat, looking at a statue, and then
waiting another 3 hours to get on a boat you would give it 5 stars.
The Statue of Liberty
The number of "abandoned" dogs at this site is a travesty and should be an
embarrassment to the Greek people.
The Parthenon
If you really want to stand looking at wax figures and pay over-inflated prices
while missing the real parts of London, this is the place.
Madame Tussauds
My hostel organised a driver to take me to Giza and back. My driver took me to a place
where I could get a camel. I foolishly hadn't read reviews about the animal cruelty.
Pyramids of Giza
Not in a tower. Cannot be rung, AND it's broken.
Liberty Bell
The lake is wonderful but when you come for the monster, don’t travel there
since it will not show up.
Loch Ness
New fast pass system is horrible!!! Unless you have money prepare to wait in long lines.
Disney World
£21 per person is excessive to see a pile of rocks from a distance.
Stonehenge
Could not fathom the rabid bunch frantically trying to get their picture taken in front of this
very nice but underwhelming statue. Copenhagen has so much more to offer.
The Little Mermaid
Basically a cash grab. Unless you absolutely need to see where Elvis slept,
forget about it. Neighbourhood is sketchy.
Graceland
Swiss prices with Peruvian services.
Machu Picchu
Shrouded in pollution; 750 rupees entry fee for foreigners and almost nothing for locals.
Taj Mahal
+4
level ∞
Jul 5, 2019
Most of these places actually do seem pretty terrible to visit. The amount of global travel (as measured in plane trips per year) has increased by about 5% per year for the last 50 years or so. Places that are overrun with tourists just keep charging more and more because they can. This is how you get a situation where people pay $41 to wait in line for hours to visit a house where Elvis used to live.
+10
level 80
Jul 5, 2019
Speaking from experience the Louvre is great. Sure the Mona Lisa room is crowded, but there are many many other famous artworks that you can view easily. Having a decent tour guide for the Tower of London and Colosseum made them pretty interesting. Madame Tussauds on the other hand...
+2
level 76
Jul 6, 2019
I haven't been to the Louvre, but it does tend to be a thing in art galleries that the crowds thin out exponentially the further you get from the most famous exhibit. When I visited the National Gallery in London, the entire population of the museum was in front of Van Gogh's sunflowers, and I had the rest of the place to myself.
+2
level 68
Jul 6, 2019
Yep, Madame Tussauds review is spot on. I mean, it's fine, and the behind the scenes tour was interesting enough, but it's crowded, overpriced and would never recommend it to someone visiting London for a short time. Machu Picchu is stunning though. At least it was 15 years ago. Yep, expensive, but the Peruvian service I had was amazing, and walking for a few days across the Inca Trail and arriving with the rising sun before the crowds was unforgettable.
+1
level ∞
Jul 6, 2019
Machu Picchu was alright. But I don't think it's possible to arrive "before the crowds" anymore. We queued for the bus at 3am and did not beat the crowds. Going later in the day might actually work better. That said, we visited some other Incan ruins and we had the entire place to ourselves.
+2
level 68
Jul 9, 2019
That's a shame. Interested to know what time you actually arrived. I imagine the queue for the first bus is where the crowd starts. We camped above it, made a short walk in the dark and were there just before first light to see it almost empty. The buses started turning up fairly soon, but there was a decent while at the beginning where it was pretty peaceful. Maybe the buses arrive earlier these days though.

Even if it has changed, I'd recommend to anyone going there to walk it if they have the time and money. It was at least half the experience for me - walking this beautifully crafted winding path for days, past little outposts, to finally arrive at a (previously) hidden city. The view of the stars/milky way was breathtaking up there too.

True about the other, less busy, Incan ruins. Definitely worth visiting, especially the ones half buried in the undergrowth if you like that Indiana Jones vibe. If they still are, that is... :/

+4
level 66
Jul 5, 2019
Quizmaster, I don't agree. I've visited 11/17 and the only one which I did find disappointing was Stonehenge as visitors are kept at too great a distance. The Pyramids and the Parthenon are particularly worthwhile.
+2
level 76
Jul 6, 2019
My advice to people visiting Stonehenge is to also go to Avebury. If anything, their stone circles are more impressive.
+4
level 77
Jul 6, 2019
The Louvre is amazing, the building itself and the collection within are incomparable- the French were the best thieves in history. The Tower of London was fun... as far as overrated tourist attractions in London go it was leagues ahead of the stupid changing of the guard. The Grand Canyon is absolutely awe-inspiring and does not come through in photographs at all. The Colosseum is awesome. The Statue of Liberty is cool but I wouldn't take time out of my day just to visit the island. The Parthenon was awesome. The Pyramids are incredible and like the Grand Canyon pictures do not do them justice. Disney World is great and unlike anywhere else in the world but definitely go during the off-season. The Taj Mahal was beautiful; all of India is shrouded in pollution so not sure what that guy was expecting.

The Liberty Bell, Little Mermaid statue - nothing much to write home about. Madame Tussauds - kitschy, not really my thing, but I can see how some would enjoy it.
+2
level 77
Jul 6, 2019
In conclusion, have to say I disagree with almost all of these. Though it does pay to be wary of the guys with camels around the Pyramids. The ones I didn't mention I haven't been to and I have no desire to visit Graceland. Whenever I've posted a negative review on TripAdvisor it always gets censored or taken down so I don't trust the site much anymore. I was trying to post about the stupid "torture museums" in San Marino.
+2
level 77
Jul 6, 2019
In terms of places that are overpriced for what you get I'd list Petra in Jordan - worth a visit but the price-gouging is ridiculous. Jerash up north is way more impressive and tickets are 1/10th as much because it's not as famous. And also pretty much every museum in Western Europe. Not like visiting the Smithsonian where all the museums are free. A trip to the observation deck at the Burj Khalifa, and pretty much everything else in Dubai, is also a contender.
+3
level 76
Jul 5, 2019
It's a ski resort, which is not quite the same as a tourist attraction, but Snowbird had a notable ad campaign where they embraced their one-star reviews. See https://www.snowbird.com/one-star/ and scroll to the bottom.
+2
level 72
Jul 6, 2019
Embrace it they do. That's awesome.
+5
level 70
Jul 5, 2019
I was lucky enough to see the "pile of rocks" for free when our car broke down on the A303 right next to it. Great view from the hard shoulder...
+7
level 73
Jul 5, 2019
Acropolis for Parthenon? I don't think the dogs would stick to only one temple ...
+3
level ∞
Jul 5, 2019
Okay
+2
level 82
Jul 5, 2019
Loved it. Had to think a bit for some, which was perfect.
+10
level 61
Jul 5, 2019
Just an opinion, but the disney clue, kind of vague, something where you have to stand in line... ok.. that narrows it down ( im sure the fast thing means something if you have been there, but all the other are guessable without having been there)
+1
level 71
Jul 5, 2019
Rather agree with this. Nowadays there are a lot of attractions where you can buy more expensive tickets and bypass the line. I thought of trying to list every major attraction that wasn't already on the list but didn't even know where to start. Wouldn't have thought of Disney either (never been there).
+1
level 68
Jul 6, 2019
To me, that sounded like the immigration lines at any US airport... One line for rich Global Entry folks and two lines with sleepy officers for 400+ regular passengers. That makes two hours layover almost not enough to catch a connecting flight.
+1
level 57
Jul 7, 2019
Not just US airports...same thing in Heathrow, Dubai and perhaps a few more that I haven’t been to.
+2
level 72
Jul 6, 2019
Brilliant!
+1
level 45
Jul 6, 2019
clever quiz and accurate too haha
+1
level 70
Jul 6, 2019
Lots of fun! I missed the Statue of Liberty and Machu Picchu, probably because I've never been to either - not that I've been to ALL the others, but they have all been on my radar at one time or another.
+2
level 63
Jul 6, 2019
The Liberty Bell one made me laugh.
+2
level 67
Jul 6, 2019
"New fast pass system is horrible!!! Unless you have money prepare to wait in long lines."
IMHO that's a really bad clue, it could be basically anything.
+1
level 77
Jul 6, 2019
I got it immediately.
+1
level 49
Aug 24, 2019
Conjured up memories of my friend attempting to convince a ride operators that our school name tags got us fast pass on space mountain
+1
level 53
Jul 6, 2019
LOL, I only missed Disneyland. Totally loved the quiz, which could also be titled: tourist attractions by STUPID tourist reviews. The mass tourist wants food, no waiting line, free entry and being the only human being in the place. Expecially food. The attraction itself is marginal. He could well be looking at an empty parking lot, for what he's concerned. The important is that there's food and you don't have to pay for it (both the food and the empty parking lot).
+1
level ∞
Jul 6, 2019
Haha, that's very true. But for me, there is one thing that ruins a tourist attraction: too many tourists. (I am aware that I am part of the problem). One solution that some places have is to ban photography. The Musée d'Orsay in Paris does this and it makes everything so much better.
+1
level 53
Jul 7, 2019
Agree, Orsay is one beautiful place. Big art museums in general are overcrowded, but the great majority of people packs up in front of the three-four most famous pieces just for the time they need to snap a selfie, leaving you the space to enjoy the other million things that are there.
+1
level 67
Jul 6, 2019
Enjoyed this quiz, although Ive only been to a few of them I still got 100%...version #2 available soon ?
+2
level 50
Jul 6, 2019
The only one I've been to is the Grand Canyon. It is really cool though, I arrived during a lightning storm and could see lightning striking the other side of the canyon while standing on the edge of a mile high cliff. I don't recommend staying there for long though, it is definitely worth doing a road trip from Las Vegas, to the national parks in Utah, to the canyon, then to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Amazing southwestern food and scenery.
+1
level 56
Jul 7, 2019
Joking Macchu Picchu is wrong ? wow
+2
level 63
Jul 7, 2019
This is an amazing quiz, up there with "Planets with bears." Please make another!
+1
level 31
Jul 7, 2019
Been to the grand canyon and its awesome
+2
level 70
Jul 7, 2019
In Australia, we have a term for unsophisticated tourists who post reviews like these - bogan. We try to encourage most of our bogan tourists to spend their time in Bali, but I guess sometimes they make it to other destinations too.
+1
level 66
Jul 8, 2019
I also only missed Disney World. I've never been there, so it wasn't even in my mind as an option. I haven't traveled that much yet, but alone from the cities I've already been, I can write similar reviews about London Eye (wasn't even interested to get on it), Tower Bridge (thanks to the London Pass I didn't have to wait at all, everybody else however did), La Sagrada Familia (it may be not possible to get in without reserving an entry time in advance).
+2
level 76
Jul 8, 2019
Agree with many others that the Disney clue is vague. As written, you basically need not only to have been there, but been there relatively recently.
+1
level 68
Jul 14, 2019
I thought it was so unfair I cheated to get it. Got all the others no problem.
+1
level 85
Jul 8, 2019
Great idea, I laughed out loud a couple of times and NE'd a few times as well. Thank you