Take another quiz >

100 Best-Reviewed Animated Films

Guess the 100 best-reviewed animated films of all time, as of February 2014.
According to rottentomatoes.com
Includes a few that are not feature length films.
Partially animated live-action films are not included.
Quiz by kalbahamut
Rate:
First submittedFebruary 6, 2013
Last updatedAugust 25, 2015
Times taken25,681
Rating3.94
12:30
Enter answer here
0
 / 100 guessed
The quiz is paused. You have remaining.
Scoring
You scored / = %
This beats or equals % of test takers also scored 100%
The average score is
Your high score is
Your best time is remaining
Keep scrolling down for answers and more stats ...
%
Year
Movie
100%
1999
Toy Story 2
100%
1995
Toy Story
100%
1940
Pinocchio
100%
2008
Sita Sings the Blues
100%
1993
Wallace and Gromit in the
Wrong Trousers
100%
1989
Kiki's Delivery Service
100%
1965
How the Grinch Stole Christmas
99%
2010
Toy Story 3
99%
2003
Finding Nemo
98%
2009
Up
98%
2010
How to Train Your Dragon
98%
1937
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
97%
2004
The Incredibles
97%
2001
Spirited Away
97%
2000
Chicken Run
97%
1999
The Iron Giant
97%
1961
101 Dalmatians
97%
1941
Dumbo
97%
1988
Grave of the Fireflies
97%
1950
Cinderella
96%
2008
WALL-E
96%
2007
Ratatouille
96%
2001
Monsters, Inc.
96%
2007
Persepolis
96%
2008
Waltz with Bashir
96%
1940
Fantasia
96%
2012
Yellow Submarine
96%
1998
Kirikou and the Sorceress
95%
2005
Wallace & Gromit:
The Curse of the Were-Rabbit
95%
2014
The Lego Movie
95%
1998
Antz
95%
2009
Mary and Max
95%
1982
The Secret of NIMH
94%
2003
The Triplets of Belleville
94%
2012
The Secret World of Arrietty
94%
1993
The Nightmare Before Christmas
94%
1992
Aladdin
94%
1996
Ghost in the Shell
93%
2009
Fantastic Mr. Fox
93%
1991
Beauty and the Beast
93%
1999
Princess Mononoke
93%
2009
James and the Giant Peach
92%
2008
Ponyo
92%
1998
A Bug's Life
92%
1989
The Little Mermaid
92%
2001
Millennium Actress
92%
1988
My Neighbor Totoro
91%
2011
Arthur Christmas
91%
2009
The Secret of Kells
91%
1942
Bambi
%
Year
Movie
91%
1959
Sleeping Beauty
90%
2009
Coraline
90%
2007
The Simpsons Movie
90%
2011
Winnie the Pooh
90%
2010
The Illusionist
90%
1994
The Lion King
90%
2009
My Dog Tulip
89%
2004
Shrek 2
89%
2010
Tangled
89%
2013
Frozen
89%
2003
Tokyo Godfathers
89%
1955
Lady and the Tramp
88%
2011
Rango
88%
2001
Shrek
88%
2008
Bolt
88%
1999
Tarzan
88%
1973
Fantastic Planet
87%
2012
Frankenweenie
87%
2008
Kung Fu Panda
87%
2012
ParaNorman
87%
2004
Howl's Moving Castle
87%
2009
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
87%
2001
Metropolis
87%
1988
Akira
86%
2012
Wreck-it Ralph
86%
2003
Lilo & Stitch
86%
2012
The Pirates! Band of Misfits
86%
1998
Mulan
86%
2012
Chico & Rita
86%
1997
Anastasia
86%
2003
The Animation Show
86%
1967
The Jungle Book
85%
2000
The Emperor's New Groove
85%
2011
A Monster in Paris
85%
2013
An Oversimplification of
Her Beauty
84%
2011
Puss in Boots
84%
1997
Hercules
83%
2005
Tim Burton's Corpse Bride
83%
2009
The Princess and the Frog
83%
2006
Paprika
83%
2013
From Up On Poppy Hill
83%
1977
The Rescuers
82%
1999
Fantasia 2000
82%
2009
A Town Called Panic
81%
2010
Despicable Me
81%
2011
Kung Fu Panda 2
81%
1999
South Park: Bigger,
Longer, and Uncut
81%
2012
A Cat in Paris
81%
2006
Azur & Amar: The Prince's Quest
81%
1978
Watership Down
+1
level 76
Feb 5, 2014
An honor to be featured on the front page again, as always.

A note about some differences with the list at RT.com: several films at RT.com are tagged incorrectly as animation. I deleted those films. (The Wizard of Oz, Mask, Deep Sea 3D, The Warrior) Special thanks to the users who brought my attention to the errors. I had your names written down but can't find the paper now. I also removed Roger Rabbit and Is the Man Who Is Tall Happy? to avoid confusion and nit-picking as these films are only partially animated. The list that remains should satisfy most. And on the bright side deleting these entries made room for South Park (the main reason I stretched this to 100 films originally) and fan favorite Watership Down.

A note about rankings: RT.com's tomatometer is binary. A review is either positive or negative. It's not like Metacritic. So a film with 30 pretty good reviews and 0 bad (100%) will be ranked above a film with 90 excellent reviews and 10 middling ones (90%).
+1
level 76
Feb 28, 2014
Rottentomatoes just completely changed the way they do their top films lists. There appear to be two major alterations that affect the lists in significant ways.
One, they are now using "adjusted scores" rather than the regular tomatometer score. I don't understand how this works, but somehow it puts The Lego Movie (96% fresh with 167 reviews) over Toy Story 2 (100% fresh with 163 reviews). No idea how that works.
Two, they doubled the threshold for the number of reviews needed to make the list from 20 to 40. This eliminates many older and more obscure films since you just can't find that many reviews for them.
It looks like they finally fixed the incorrect tagging of most of the films, though they still somehow overlooked The Warrior.
On the plus side Brave and The Prince of Egypt are now in the list. On the down side so are Happy Feet, Surf's Up, and some other turds; and some very deserving films with fewer than 40 reviews got kicked off.
+1
level 76
Feb 28, 2014
This will probably be the final iteration of this quiz. I don't think I'm going to update it to reflect RT's new and confusing methodology, I prefer the quiz the way it is now.
+1
level 83
Mar 3, 2014
Excellent quiz, Kalba. Every quiz is a snapshot in time and can't be continuously updated, but I think you picked a very good time to cut it off, with 2 new entries just making the list in the last few months.
+1
level 71
Mar 30, 2019
I'd be willing to take a stab at it, if only to see Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse on here :-) But seriously, animated films are just getting better and better; soon this will look less out of date and more like a history book!
+1
level 76
Mar 30, 2019
I may revisit this at some point. Though... if I do... I think I will try to find a different criteria than Rotten Tomatoes. I'm losing more and more faith in that site with each passing year.
+1
level 47
Aug 15, 2015
I don't know how RT tags it, but Interstella 5555 is *fully animated* and has a score of 86%. And it's awesome.
+1
level 76
Aug 16, 2015
The reason it doesn't show up is because there are only 7 counted reviews on RottenTomatoes. I forget the minimum threshold for showing up on this list but it was something like 20 or 30 reviews I think.
+1
level 24
Oct 19, 2018
The Lego Movie is partially animated. Should not count.
+1
level 76
Oct 19, 2018
The Lego Movie is a partially live action animated movie. Mary Poppins is a partially animated live action movie.
+1
level 70
Dec 6, 2018
Spongebob Squarepants was an animated movie with a live sponge and David Hasselhoff.
+1
level 37
Feb 8, 2014
Great Quiz! But can you please accept more answers for 'An Oversimplification of her beauty' as in allow things like AOSOHB
+1
level 76
Feb 8, 2014
I can't imagine too many people would try entering that as the answer but I guess I could add that... glad you enjoyed the quiz.
+1
level 79
Jun 17, 2016
An Oversimplification of Her Beauty must contain the marker "An" which to be consistent should be allowed without (i.e. Oversimplification of Her Beauty should work).
+1
level 76
Feb 15, 2014
+1
level 78
Feb 15, 2014
Surprised Happy Feet didn't make the list.
+1
level 76
Feb 15, 2014
Proof positive that Oscar is more about politics than the actual quality of a film.
+1
level 72
Feb 24, 2014
Happy Feet IS on the list now...seems like quite a few have changed, actually, since the quiz was made.
+1
level 76
Feb 24, 2014
hm.... how do you figure?

Happy Feet is currently 75% fresh at Rotten Tomatoes.com. Well below the threshold needed to place it on this list, where the lowest-rated film is 81% fresh. I think there are probably 50 or so films between Watership Down and Happy Feet...
+1
level 76
Feb 28, 2014
oh... whoa... I see what you are talking about now.... looks like RottenTomatoes did a major reworking of its top-rated animated films list. I'll comment above.
+1
level 76
Feb 15, 2014
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (1954) is NOT an animated film. Also, perhaps you should mention that theatrical shorts as well as TV productions are included. I almost missed a few because I started out guessing only feature films.
+1
level 76
Feb 15, 2014
oh man... another one. :P Have to reset the scores again. Thanks for catching that. I thought I had eliminated all of the mis-tagged ones already (there were several)... 20,000 Leagues slipped under the radar because there actually are multiple animated versions of the story. However, you are right, the one that is 89% fresh is the live action Disney film made in 1954. Someone at RottenTomatoes probably saw "Disney" and just assumed it was animation without even looking twice. Oh well. On the plus side this makes space again for Watership Down.

I DID have a disclaimer that the quiz included some shorts. I must have deleted that when I updated the caveats to say that I had removed the partially animated ones. (It used to say that there were some partially animated movies included, too) I'll put the disclaimer back.
+1
level 20
Feb 15, 2014
41/100, it wasn't thaaaat bad.
+1
level 67
Feb 17, 2014
Can't believe I forgot anime. Ah well.
+1
level 71
Apr 16, 2014
Same here. Obviously I am more North-America focussed than I realized. Shame on me.
+1
level 76
Feb 21, 2014
If anyone's wondering why A Grand Day Out and A Close Shave are not on here, it's because both have collected fewer than 20 reviews at RT.com.
+1
level 76
Oct 21, 2015
That's sad. I would give them both 100%.
+1
level 71
Apr 16, 2014
Excellent quiz, really streches your memory! I got only 39 but apparently that's rather good. I'm mostly happy with myself that I got pretty much all the ones I have seen, and even several I haven't. Can't believe I missed classics like Dumbo, Bambi and Fantasia though. I wish you would accept just Kirikou for Kirikou and the sorceress (because thats what I typed and I was surprised it wasn't there), but I just hecked on IMDB and learned several Kirikou movies have actually been made. Darn,
+1
level 58
May 16, 2014
Isn't the first part of James and the Giant Peach live action???
+1
level 76
May 17, 2014
Yes and this is true for a few other films on the list as well. It was a judgment call. If it felt like an animated film that included some bits of live action, like James and the Giant Peach or the LEGO movie, then I included it. If it felt like a live action movie that included some bits of animation, like Who Framed Roger Rabbit or Mary Poppins, then I did not include it. You may disagree on my methodology (which was relying on the quiz maker's personal opinion), but hope that clears that up.
+1
level 83
Jul 2, 2014
James and the Giant Peach came out in 1996, not 2009. Yellow Submarine came out in 1968, not (titter) 2012. You can add those to the list as well.
+1
level 76
Jul 3, 2014
not sure what titter means, but thanks. I will.
+1
level 32
Jul 16, 2014
I felt like I was playing Guess The Disney Movie :-)
+1
level 76
Jun 9, 2015
There are quite a few Disney movies that don't make the cut, including Hunchback, Atlantis, Treasure Planet, Robin Hood, Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, The Rescuers Down Under, The Great Mouse Detective, Brother Bear, Home on the Range, Chicken Little, and Dinosaur, among others.

And quite a few non-Disney films on here as well, including pretty much everything Pixar has done, some from the Pixar copycats, a pretty decent representation of Japanese anime, a few Nick Park or Don Bluth or Tim Burton movies, and even quite a few odd niche foreign films like Sita Sings the Blues. This is a very diverse list!
+1
level 71
Dec 18, 2017
I suppose Sita would be foreign to you, but the creator is actually American. Got a lot of criticism for being cultural appropriation.
+2
level 76
Dec 19, 2017
Ah okay. Those critics sound like morons. But I didn't know that.
+1
level 44
Aug 3, 2014
Surprised to see Beauty and the Beast so far down the list. It was the best-reviewed movie of the year in 1991, beating out Silence of the Lambs and JFK as I recall. It was nominated for Best Picture and pretty much turned the world on its head regarding cartoons. And now it sits below Antz, which I liked, I thought it was cute, but... consider the source, I guess.
+1
level 22
Aug 4, 2014
I can't belive that there are some boring cartoons but neigher The Sword In the Stone nor Castle in the Sky, nor The Wind Rises, nor The Land Before Time, nor An American Tail... etc However this is a good quiz that includes Grave of the Fireflies so it's ok ;) Thanks
+1
level 76
Aug 5, 2014
You liked The Land Before Time? I agree on the others.
+1
level 39
Aug 2, 2017
land before time is an absolute classic!
+1
level 68
Oct 31, 2017
The first Land Before Time was good. I'm not sure about the eighty bajillion sequels though.
+1
level 83
Sep 24, 2014
Nice one, especially on the type ins, to save my aching fingers.

Course, on a list of 100... there's bound to be a couple you could improve, like do we really need 'The' in 'The Emperor's New Groove?' And perhaps 'Cloudy with a chance' of not having to type the full name?
+1
level 79
Mar 15, 2015
Ditto, had "Emperors new groove" without the "the"
+1
level 65
Oct 31, 2014
where is pocahontas ?
+1
level 76
Oct 31, 2014
Currently sitting at 56% fresh on the Tomatometer. Disney's worst-reviewed movie since Oliver & Company. They wouldn't see a score that low again until Home on the Range. Personally I agree with this rating. Apart from a good soundtrack the movie wasn't good.
+1
level 53
Mar 14, 2015
James and the Giant Peach is from 1996, not from 2009.
+1
level 69
Apr 22, 2015
Could you accept "la planete sauvage" for "fantastic planet" please? It's the original title
+1
level 76
Apr 22, 2015
Sure. Done.
+1
level 49
May 29, 2015
No "The Land Before Time"?! Hard to believe!
+1
level 38
Aug 3, 2015
Got 40, but basically just guessed everything Disney+Pixar+Dreamworks. Completely forgot about guessing Japanese anime... argh
+1
level 81
Sep 16, 2015
Several great movies. However, I can't believe no Madagascar made the cut. I tried it at least 10 times. Again forgot obvious ones, it's really hard to think about so many suddenly.
+1
level 76
Sep 16, 2015
The Madagascar films have followed the unusual pattern of each successive film being better reviewed than the previous one. I only saw part of the first one so maybe I shouldn't judge. But even Madagascar 3, the best reviewed of the lot, is only 79% fresh. Not good enough to make the cut here.
+1
level 66
Dec 8, 2015
I'm surprised that Ice Age, and more importantly the Hunchback of Notre Dame didn't make the cut. I consider the second one to be one of the best Disney movies at least in the 90's.
+1
level 76
Dec 8, 2015
I do, too! But reviews were mixed. Most of the negative ones focused on the uneveness of a film that, at times was very serious and dark dealing with themes of genocide, child abuse, racism and sexual coercion; and at other times was silly songs with talking gargoyles... and a few just said that it was inappropriate for children. Some simply didn't like it. But I thought the film was brilliant personally. (would have been better if they cut out the song "A Guy Like You"... it just didn't fit and was a prime example of aforementioned unevenness. But... the run up to the finale of the movie was so intense, Disney was obviously trying to introduce a little bit of levity.)
+1
level 72
Feb 3, 2016
missed the lion king but got the secret of nimh
+1
level 24
Feb 20, 2016
Kept thinking 101 puppies, and couldn't spell ratatouille to save my life.
+1
level 45
Apr 12, 2016
Huge fan of Disney and Studio Ghibli, and animation in general... and I forgot soooooooooooo many on the list! And I was VERY surprised the second How to Train Your Dragon movie wasn't on the list. It wasn't quite as acclaimed as the first but still very highly rated.
+1
level 76
Apr 12, 2016
HtTYD2 came out 4 months after this quiz was last updated.
+1
level 45
Jul 5, 2016
Interesting... Even though Chicken Run is one of my favorite movies, I would've never guessed it was this well rated. I would've thought that more people would've guessed Kung fu-Panda though. Also, is it just me or are there 2 movies with 0 percent? Does that mean NOBODY guesssed those?
+1
level 76
Jul 6, 2016
I think it means that fewer than 1 in 150 or so people guessed those.
+1
level 48
Sep 5, 2016
How the Grinch stole Christmas isn't animated... is it?
+1
level 76
Sep 5, 2016
The 2000 Jim Carrey film wasn't, but the 1965 animated short definitely was.
+1
level 61
Dec 15, 2016
Congrats, Rotten Tomatoes...you've just rattled off 33 movies I've never heard of in my entire life. They must have been VERY popular.
+1
level 76
Dec 16, 2016
In my opinion most of these are worth checking out. Some are overrated.
+1
level 65
Dec 31, 2016
There should be a mention that there are stop-motion movies in here as well. I was thinking traditional hand-drawn or CGI animation only.
+2
level 43
Mar 8, 2017
It's weirder to think "animation" refers to only two specific animation technics than all of them.
+1
level 39
Mar 14, 2017
I was terrible! I only got the older ones such as Cinderella, Snow White, and Sleeping Beauty…the only newer one I got was The Simpsons Movie!
+1
level 51
Apr 17, 2017
I can't imagine why Finding Dory doesn't appear on this list.
+1
level 76
Apr 17, 2017
My best guess is that Finding Dory came out a year after this quiz did.
+1
level 57
Jul 27, 2019
They couldnt find her..
+1
level 56
Apr 21, 2017
rattatouile with 96 % !?
+1
level 24
May 23, 2017
forgot about hercules!!
+2
level 71
Jun 4, 2017
Could you accept Arrietty for the Secret World of Arrietty?
+1
level 67
Aug 6, 2018
Second that. And while you're at it, Arrietty came out in 2010. And Yellow Submarine's year still hasn't been changed in four years!
+4
level 57
Jul 27, 2017
Update your quiz. Inside Out got 98% and does not appear on your quiz. First thing I tried. Didn't bother with any more.
+1
level 76
Jul 27, 2017
Read the comments. I'm not going to update this.
+1
level 76
Jul 27, 2017
You could have also saved yourself some time if you just looked at the publish date.
+1
level 51
Aug 21, 2017
I find it crazy that Toy Story 2 is up there at the top. It's the 3rd best Toy Story there is.. Choked that I think I somehow messed up spelling ParaNorman and Persepolis and moved on thinking they didn't make the cut. Great quiz, though. Definitely could use an update because anything after 2014, roughly, isn't up there.
+1
level 76
Aug 21, 2017
Toy Story 2 is my favorite of the trilogy. But more importantly, it didn't get a single negative critical review of the hundreds collected. The original Toy Story also had no negative reviews, but there were fewer collected.
+1
level 76
Aug 21, 2017
But we're talking about the different between... 99%, 100%, and slightly more 100%.
+1
level 76
Jan 7, 2018
Took me a while to notice that anime counted. That quickly led me to Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Spirited Away, and Princess Mononoke (but, sadly, not Metropolis). Then I couldn't understand why it didn't have Royal Space Force - Wings of Honneamise (100%) and Ninja Scroll (92%). Had they not been reviewed when the quiz was made? Is there a rule that it has to have been in western theatres?
+1
level 76
Jan 7, 2018
They don't meet the minimum number of reviews requirement. Wings of HoneyMustardMayonnaise only had 9 reviews logged at RT. And Ninja Scroll? Wow can't believe that one scored so high. I remember seeing it in high school and thinking it was garbage. Wonder if I would think differently now.
+1
level 56
Jul 10, 2018
jesus f****** christ it's a tad anal to require capitalization of "Nimh" wouldn't you say???? smdh...
+2
level 76
Jul 10, 2018
No quiz on the site requires capitalization of anything.
+1
level 45
Aug 2, 2018
It says James and the Giant Peach came out in 2009 instead of 1996. I think you meant to change it before but didn't get around to it.
+1
level 50
Aug 6, 2018
How is Cars not one here... One of the top 10 animated movies ever.
+2
level 76
Aug 6, 2018
:-/ are you trolling? Cars is probably the worst thing Pixar has ever done, aside from Cars 2, and maybe Cars 3 I didn't even see that one.
+1
level 71
Sep 28, 2018
It's called Cars 3 because it's the third worst Pixar movie.
+2
level 65
Mar 14, 2019
This really needs an update. Was very surprised that Inside Out and Zootopia were absent from the list, just to read that this hasn't been updated since 2015.
+1
level 76
Apr 6, 2019
Personally I thought Zootopia was okay but overrated, but I loved Inside Out, I felt like it was the best thing Pixar had done since Up.
+1
level 66
Apr 12, 2019
Surprised to see The Secret of NIMH in there! I thought of it and didn't try it. Had no idea it was so highly rated.
+1
level 68
May 28, 2019
Any chance of an update? 2014 was a long time ago now.